ANNA BOCEK: WORK


Bocek. A, work from “Italian Series” (2013), 100x120cm, oil paint on canvas

Anna Bocek is a Polish artist born in 1973. Anna Studied at the governmental academy of arts in Gdansk at the faculty of painting and set design. She received her first of numerous awards for the best Shakespearean Set Design Project of Theatrum Gedanense Foundation, Gdansk.

I stumbled across Anna Bocek on Pinterest and immediately connected with her style of work. People as subjects feature in all of her work I have viewed so far. Oil paint on canvas is used in the majority of her work. The contrast in her subtle colour scheme is visually pleasing, a vast range of colour all with softer hues. Messy abstract forms put together in her images come together to form people (the subjects). The emotion portrayed in her paintings is soul capturing, I gaze at the subjects and wonder why have they been painted? What are they thinking/feeling? Use of a palate knife is apparent, thick layers of paint built up on each other to give texture to the work.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 1.40.02 PMScreen Shot 2013-04-10 at 2.53.33 PMScreen Shot 2013-04-10 at 2.51.42 PM

(left) Bocek, A, from Italian series, (2013) 100x120cm, oil paint on canvas
(centre) Bocek, A, from series of Postales de Viajes- La Playa, (2012) 100x100cm. oil paint on canvas
(right) Bocek, A, from series of Elements, (2011) 100x100cm, oil paint on canvas

“Undoubtedly, such mainspring of art for me is theatre – the most important source of inspiration and spiritual experiences both, as a viewer and an artist. Both aspects are equally important for me anyway. The first directly influences the topics of my paintings (related not so much to the theatrical space itself, as to the human being existing in it). The second one makes my paintings come to life and gives them tree-dimensional characteristic. My paintings do not try to reconstruct reality nor comment on it. On the one hand, I consider them studies of human nature, emotions, sensual experiences and moods. On the other hand, it becomes the first stage of the world constructed of this scenic reality.” – Anna Bocek

I connect immensely with Anna’s work. As stated above, Bocek’s paintings being studies of human emotion, experiences and moods is exactly what I am passionate about and wish to portray through my work. Although it is early days in my studies, this is somewhat the direction I see myself going in. I am so grateful to have come across Bocek’s work and have gained a huge amount of respect and inspiration from the Polish artist.

Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 2.50.13 PMBocek, A, from series of Twilight, (2008) 120x100cm, oil paint on canvas

Information retrieved from Anna Bocek’s Facebook and Website.

All images retrieved from Anna Bocek’s Website

6 thoughts on “ANNA BOCEK: WORK

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts
    and I will be waiting for your further write ups thank you once again.

  2. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I am
    waiting for your next post thank you once again.

  3. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well
    as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

  4. Good day! I just want to offer you a huge thumbs up for the great
    info you’ve got right here on this post. I’ll be
    returning to your website for more soon.

  5. These are truly fantastic ideas in regarding blogging.

    You have touched some fastidious points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

Leave a Reply

